PPJ #4 – Brodie Kelley

As the end of the quarter draws near, I can look back on these past ten weeks and see my group’s time developing our game more clearly. There are three things that I think went wrong, as well as three things that I think went right. Here’s what went wrong:

  1. I’m personally pretty happy with how our game has turned out so far, but I think that we, as a team, should have decided a clearer vision for the game much earlier on in development. Looking back, it seems like we all talked about a lot of great ideas for the project, whether it be in terms of story, gameplay, visuals, etc. Luckily a lot of those great ideas made it into the game, but there are a fair amount that didn’t. I can understand now that we should have not only focused on these individual parts of the game that seemed so exciting at the time, but we also should have focused on cementing a more established vision for the game as a whole. I feel like we all had different understandings of what the game was supposed to be for a while.
  2. I really needed to learn how to manage my time better. I think I did for these past couple of weeks, but honestly during most of development, I was constantly running late or cramming all of my work in at the last minute. The poster child for my bad time management skills is the game’s intro cinematic. I think collectively – planning, storyboarding, and finalizing before tweeking – took up about three weeks. That’s not to say I didn’t get other work done in that time, but still, three weeks is a while.
  3. We somewhat over-scoped the game. Like I mentioned earlier, a lot of our original ideas did not make it into the game. This actually wasn’t completely unexpected as we are all pretty much constantly warned about staying in scope, but still I was hoping we could avoid it.

And here’s what went right:

  1. My team works incredibly well together. We’ve all had plenty of experience working in teams in the past, and so I’m sure none of us are strangers to bad teams or teammates. I know that I’m not. But this group worked together from the start, and I think that, more than anything, is why our game has come so far.
  2. The game itself may have expanded in scope a bit beyond what we had initially planned, but at the same time, the game is much more impressive than I had ever really imagined. I think we pushed ourselves, which resulted in a really solid game that I hope we are able to expand upon next quarter.
  3. Personally, I went out of my comfort zone when shaping the art style for this game. We all collaborated and agree upon an art direction early on. It was something that was really exciting and that we all agreed on. As the one responsible for almost all of the game’s 2D art, I found that actually getting the art style to where it needed to be was tough, especially since it was supposed to be very cartoonish and simple. This really conflicted with my own more realistic, manga-influenced style. That said, I am really happy with where the game’s 2D art direction ended up. The guidance of my team really helped a lot.

Development required a lot of work, but it was very rewarding. I’m really proud of what my team and I have been able to accomplish this quarter.

Leave a Reply

